2022 General Election

2022 General Local Elections

Elections for Electoral Area Directors to represent the electoral areas within the Regional District of Nanaimo occur every four (4) years. The next General Local Election will be held on Saturday, October 15, 2022, with advanced voting opportunities being held on Wednesday, October 5 and Wednesday, October 12, 2022.

The Regional District of Nanaimo is comprised of seven Electoral Areas and four Municipal partners. The four Municipal partners include the City of Nanaimo, City of Parksville, District of Lantzville and the Town of Qualicum Beach. As part of the General Local Election system in British Columbia, Electoral Area Directors may be elected by acclamation (in the case of a single qualified candidate) or by voting (where there is more than one qualified candidate). Each Municipal Director on the Board of Directors is appointed by their respective Council from amongst their elected members.

More information will be posted here as it becomes available.

2022 General Local Elections Important Dates
Start of Election Period Saturday, January 1, 2022
Candidate Information Session Tuesday, August 9, 2022, at 3 p.m. and 7 p.m.
Start of Nomination Period Tuesday, August 30, 2022, at 9 a.m.
End of Nomination Period Friday, September 9, 2022, at 4 p.m.
Declaration of Candidates Friday, September 9, 2022
Period to challenge candidate nominations ends Tuesday, September 13, 2022, at 4 p.m.
End of Election Period Friday, September 16, 2022
Start of Campaign Period Saturday, September 17, 2022
Advance Voting Opportunity Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Second Advance Voting Opportunity Wednesday, October 12, 2022
End of Campaign Period Saturday, October 15, 2022
General Voting Day Saturday, October 15, 2022
Determination of Official Election Results Wednesday, October 19, 2022
Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline Friday, January 13, 2023

 

Candidate Information Links to Resources and FAQs Election Notices

Contact Information

Jacquie Hill, Chief Election Officer
Delcy Wells, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Jessica Bagnall, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Cheryl Golding, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Gail Smith, Deputy Chief Election Officer

Phone: 250-390-4111, toll free 1-877-607-4111
Email: vote [at] rdn.bc.ca