Regional District of Nanaimo | Regional Board

Regional Board

The Regional District is governed by an elected Board of 19 Directors. There are eight members on the Board representing the City of Nanaimo, two members representing the City of Parksville, one member each for the Town of Qualicum Beach and the District of Lantzville, and one for each of the RDN's seven Electoral Areas. The RDN Board has three standing committees - The Electoral Area Services Committee, The Executive Committee, and The Committee of the Whole. The Board and its Standing Committees meet regularly to govern the affairs of the District and to establish local bylaws and public policy. Board members also direct a variety of additional committees for key services throughout the region.

Photo taken at the Inaugural Board Meeting November 13, 2018
 
Image by Dirk Heydemann of HA Photography

Elections to the RDN Board occur every four years during province-wide local government elections.

Ian Thorpe, City of Nanaimo, is the RDN Board Chair, and Bob Rogers, Electoral Area E Director, is the Vice Chair.

 

THE 2018-2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Ian Thorpe Ian Thorpe
Board Chair
City of Nanaimo
c/o City of Nanaimo
455 Wallace Street
Nanaimo, BC V9S 5J6
Phone: 250-713-9135
ian.thorpe@nanaimo.ca
Bob Rogers Bob Rogers
Vice Chair
Director, Electoral Area E

Nanoose Bay
1578 Arbutus Lane
Nanoose Bay, BC V9P 9B5
Phone: 250-468-9986
bob.rogers@rdn.bc.ca
Keith Wilson Keith Wilson
Director, Electoral Area A

South Wellington, Cassidy, Cedar
2940 Raven Hill Rd
Nanaimo, V9X 1N7
keith.wilson@rdn.bc.ca
Vanessa Craig Vanessa Craig
Director, Electoral Area B

Gabriola & Surrounding Islands
406 Hemlock Ave
Gabriola, BC V0R 1X1
vanessa.craig@rdn.bc.ca
Maureen Young Maureen Young
Director, Electoral Area C

Extension, East Wellington, Pleasant Valley
2335 Godfrey Road
Nanaimo, BC V9X 1E7
Residence: 250-754-5896
Fax: 250-714-1135
maureen.young@rdn.bc.ca
Leanne Salter
Director, Electoral Area F

Coombs, Hilliers, Errington
c/o Regional District of Nanaimo
6300 Hammond Bay Rd
Nanaimo, BC V9T 6N2
Phone 250-248-8097
leanne.salter@rdn.bc.ca
Clark Goulay Clarke Gourlay
Director, Electoral Area G

Dashwood, Englishman River, French Creek
403 Lowry's Rd
Parksville, BC V9P 2B5
Phone 250-954-7442
clarke.gourlay@rdn.bc.ca
Stuart McLean Stuart McLean
Director, Electoral Area H

Shaw Hill, Deep Bay, Bowser
5049 Thompson Clark Dr W
Bowser, BC V0R 1G0
Phone 250-240-2263
stuart.mclean@rdn.bc.ca
Leonard Krog
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Office 250-755-4400
leonard.krog@nanaimo.ca
Sheryl Armstrong
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-668-6748
sheryl.armstrong@nanaimo.ca
Don Bonner
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-755-4400
don.bonner@nanaimo.ca
Tyler Brown
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-755-4400
tyler.brown@nanaimo.ca
Ben Geselbracht
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-755-4400
ben.geselbracht@nanaimo.ca
Erin Hemmens
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-755-4400
erin.hemmens@nanaimo.ca
Jim Turley
City of Nanaimo
c/o 455 Wallace St
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6
Phone 250-755-4400
jim.turley@nanaimo.ca
Ed Mayne
City of Parksville
c/o City of Parksville
100 E. Jensen Avenue ( Box 1390)
Parksville, BC V9P 2H3
Phone 250-954-4661
mayor@parksville.ca
Adam Fras
City of Parksville
c/o City of Parksville
100 E. Jensen Avenue ( Box 1390)
Parksville, BC V9P 2H3
Phone 250-228-3727
councillorfras@parksville.ca
Mark Swain Mark Swain
District of Lantzville
c/o 7192 Lantzville Rd
PO Box 100
Lantzville, BC V0R 2H0
Phone 250-714-9708
mayor.swain@lantzville.ca
Brian Wiese Brian Wiese
Town of Qualicum Beach
556 Willow Road
Qualicum Beach, BC V9K 1K8
Office 250-752-6921
mayor@qualicumbeach.com

The RDN Board has three standing committees - The Electoral Area Services Committee, The Executive Committee, and The Committee of the Whole. The Board and its Standing Committees meet regularly to govern the affairs of the District and to establish local bylaws and public policy.

To view the next Agenda of the Regional District Board or one of its Standing Committees [ Click Here ]
To read the Board's Strategic Plan, and to view other planning documents developed by the Board [ Click Here ]