Action Plan

Action Plan
The Drinking Water and Watershed Protection program is fundamentally guided by the Action Plan that was adopted in 2008 to position the program around 7 focus areas. Please see the Action Plan document here: Arrow

The DWWP service is established by RDN bylaw 1556-0, 2008. There have been two amendments since that bylaw was passed, to include participation of the member municipalities:

Technical Advisory Committee

The Drinking Water & Watershed Protection Technical Advisory Committee advises the Board and staff on the implementation of the Drinking Water and Watershed Protection Service.

The actions of the Committee members include:

  • provide recommendations to the Board through the Sustainability Select Committee regarding activities relating to the Drinking Water and Watershed Protection program;
  • participate on smaller ad-hoc committees dealing with specific issues or tasks;
  • provide advice and feedback on consultation activities with service area stakeholders;
  • provide input and feedback on technical reports, discussion papers, and other documents prepared for the committee's information;
  • identify tools and techniques to be employed in the monitoring and evaluation of the Drinking Water and Watershed Protection service and its implementation; and
  • make recommendations to increase the effectiveness of the Drinking Water and Watershed Protection service.
The committee consists of 21 members representing a broad range of interests and geographic locations in the RDN. Members will be selected by the Board either through an application process or by appointment or by the member's organization.
Randy AlexanderCommittee Chairman and GM of RDN Regional and Community Utilities
Bob WeirMunicipal Representative, Town of Qualicum Beach
Barb SilenieksMunicipal Representative, City of Parksville/ Arrowsmith Water Service
Fred SpearsMunicipal Representative, District of Lantzville
Bill SimsMunicipal Representative, City of Nanaimo
Gilles WendlingHydrogeologist Representative
VACANTHydrologist Representative
Lynne MageeVancouver Island Health Authority
Pat LapcevicBC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development
Deb Epps BC Ministry of Environment
William ShulbaIslands Trust
Anne FiddickEnvironmental Community
Chris Cole Public Representative (North)
Harriet RueggebergPublic Representative (South)
Ken EppsForest Industry (Island Timberlands)
Pam JorgensonForest Industry (TimberWest)
Leon CakeWater Purveyors (Coastal Water Suppliers)
Oliver BrandesAcademic Community (POLIS Project on Ecological Governance)
Alan GilchristVancouver Island University, Department of Geography
Kirsten FagervikMinistry of Transportation and Infrastructure
Kate MillerCowichan Valley Regional District
Pam ShawMt Arrowsmith Biosphere Region
Nick LeoneDepartment of Fisheries and Oceans
All Committee Meetings are open to the general public. The Committee normally meets at the RDN office located at 6300 Hammond Bay Road in Nanaimo.

Meeting Agendas - Drinking Water Watershed Protection Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes - Drinking Water Watershed Protection Advisory Committee Presentations Board Reports DWWP