Scrutineers for Assent Voting

Qualified electors in Electoral Area 'B' can apply to act as scrutineers in the 2016 RDN (Electoral Area 'B') Assent Voting. The volunteer positions are available for the following proceedings: voting on General Voting Day, February 13, 2016; Advance Voting on February 3, 2016; Advance Voting on February 10, 2016; the determination of official results; and for a judicial recount (if necessary). A maximum of two scrutineers - one in favour of, and one opposed to, the question will be appointed for each proceeding.

Electors within Electoral Area 'B' will be voting on the following question:

"Are you in favour of the Regional District of Nanaimo adopting Bylaw No. 1734 to provide for the following:
  • establishing the "Transit Contribution Service" within Electoral Area 'B' to provide for a contribution towards a system of public transit in Electoral Area 'B'; and
  • annually requisitioning up to a maximum of the greater of $250,000 or $0.25 per $1,000 of net taxable value of land and improvements to pay for the service?"
Applications to act as a scrutineer will be received by the Chief Election Officer or a designated person at the office of the Regional District of Nanaimo located at 6300 Hammond Bay Road, Nanaimo, BC V9T 6N2 between 8:30 am, Tuesday, December 29, 2015 and 4:30 pm, Friday, January 8, 2016. Applications will be received during regular office days and hours during this period: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 8:30 am - 4:30 pm; and Wednesday from 8:30 am - 5:30 pm, excluding statutory holidays. The application form is available via the link shown above. Interested persons can obtain information on the requirements and procedures for making an application by contacting the Chief Election Officer, Jacquie Hill, or the Deputy Chief Election Officer, Matt O'Halloran at the Regional District of Nanaimo office: 250-390-4111, toll free at 1-877-607-4111 or email vote@rdn.bc.ca.