2018 General Local Elections

2018 General Local Elections

Elections for Electoral Area Directors to represent the electoral areas within the Regional District of Nanaimo occur every four (4) years. The next General Local Election will be held on Saturday, October 20, 2018 with advanced Voting Opportunities being held on Wednesday, October 10, 2018, and Wednesday, October 17, 2018.

The Regional District of Nanaimo is comprised of seven Electoral Areas and four Municipal partners. The four Municipal partners include the City of Nanaimo, City of Parksville, District of Lantzville and the Town of Qualicum Beach. As part of the General Local Election system in British Columbia, Electoral Area Directors may be elected by acclamation (in the case of a single qualified candidate) or by voting (where there is more than one qualified candidate). Each Municipal Director on the Board of Directors is appointed by their respective Council from amongst their elected members.



2018 General Local Elections Important Dates
2018 General Local Elections Important Dates
Start of Election Period Monday, January 1, 2018
Candidate Orientation Session Monday, July 23, 2018 at 7:00 pm
Start of Nomination Period Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 9:00 am
End of Nomination Period Friday, September 14, 2018 at 4:00 pm
Declaration of Candidates Friday, September 14, 2018
Period to challenge candidate nominations ends Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 4:00 pm
End of Election Period Friday, September 21, 2018
Start of Campaign Period Saturday, September 22, 2018
Advance Voting Opportunity Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Second Advance Voting Opportunity Wednesday, October 17, 2018
End of Campaign Period Saturday, October 20, 2018
General Voting Day Saturday, October 20, 2018
Determination of Official Election Results Monday, October 22, 2018
Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline Friday, January 18, 2019

Contact Information

Peter Crawford, Chief Election Officer
Jacquie Hill, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Delcy Wells, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Cheryl Golding, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Tricia Mayea, Deputy Chief Election Officer

Telephone: 250-390-4111
Email: vote [at] rdn.bc.ca (vote[at]rdn[dot]bc[dot]ca)